The Utah 1033 Foundation presented nine students from across the state, all children of Utah law enforcement officers, with $2,500 each in Leadership Awards on April 30, 2019 at an event honoring both the individual students and Utah’s fallen law enforcement officers.

High school and college students from around the State applied for the 2019 Leadership Awards by submitting an essay in response to a prompt which asked them to grapple with the issue of preserving individual rights, such as free speech, while attempting to ensure an orderly society.  The winning students were selected on the basis of their essays and for their demonstrated academic achievement and rigor.

Zions Bank hosted the annual presentation of the Leadership Award program by The Utah 1033 Foundation on April 30, 2019 at 11:00 a.m. at the Zions Bank Founders Room in Salt Lake City.

“The Utah 1033 Foundation is very proud of this year’s recipients,” said Utah 1033 Foundation president Dave Kaufman. “They rose to the top of a large and extremely competitive applicant pool, and we know they will go on to do great things.

“We’d also like to express our gratitude to Zions Bank for hosting the ceremony again this year, and to our wonderful donors,” Kaufman said.  “The Utah 1033 Foundation couldn’t deliver its programs without them, and we’re deeply grateful for their generosity.”

Each Award bears the name of one of the nine officers killed in the line of duty since the foundation’s creation in 2011.  Committee members, through a blind screening process, selected the following nine Award recipients:

Racquel Whatcott of Spanish Fork, UT – recipient of the 2019 Joseph Shinners Leadership Award
Mallory Blue of Cedar City, UT – recipient of the 2019 David Romrell Leadership Award
Megan Bartschi of Hyrum, UT – recipient of the 2019 Eric Ellsworth Leadership Award
Josephina Lealaitafea  of West Jordan, UT – recipient of the 2019 Cody Brotherson Leadership Award
Mallory Adamson of Herriman, UT – recipient of the 2019 Douglas Barney Leadership Award
Britlee Barker of Spanish Fork, UT – recipient of the 2019 Cory Wride Leadership Award
Annie Markland of Lehi, UT – recipient of the 2019 Derek Johnson Leadership Award
Madison Berg of Enoch, UT – recipient of the 2019 Aaron Beesley Leadership Award
McKayla Bergsjo of Logan, UT – recipient of the 2019 Jared Francom Leadership Award


About The Utah 1033 Foundation

The Utah 1033 Foundation is a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) non-profit organization established in 2011 to honor Utah’s fallen officers by providing immediate financial support to their families, and to assist dependents of fallen and active Utah peace officers with education costs.

For more information, please visit